Bhagavad Gita in English Chapter 16 The Divine and Demoniac Natures

The Divine and Demoniac Natures

Texts 1-3: The Supreme Personality of Godhead spoke about fearlessness, self-purification, spiritual knowledge, charity, self-control, sacrifice, study of the Vedas, austerity, simplicity, nonviolence, truthfulness, freedom from anger, renunciation, tranquilly, aversion to faultfinding, compassion for all living things, freedom from covetousness, gentleness, modesty, steady determination, vigour, forgiveness, fortitude, and cleanliness.

Text 4: O son of Pritha, pride, arrogance, conceit, rage, harshness, and ignorance are characteristics of demoniac nature.

Text 5: The demoniac traits lead to slavery, but the transcendental virtues promote liberty. O son of Pu, relax; you own celestial attributes from birth.

Text 6: O son of Pritha, there are two types of created beings in this planet. One is said to as divine, while the other as demonic. I’ve previously given you a thorough explanation of the divine attributes. I will now speak about the demoniac.

Text 7: Demonic people are unable to distinguish between right and wrong. They don’t represent truth, propriety, or cleanliness.

Text 8: According to them, there is no basis for this world and no God to rule it. They claim that it is born out of sex desire and has no other motivation than lust.

Text 9: After reaching such conclusions, the demoniac, who are illiterate and lost to themselves, carry out evil deeds intended to end the world.

Text 10: The demoniac, thus deluded, are always pledged to dirty activity, drawn to the transient. They take refuge in ravenous passion and are consumed in the conceit of pride and false status.

Texts 11–12: According to them, the foundation of human civilisation is the satisfaction of the senses. Their anguish is therefore unbearable until the end of their lives. They obtain money by illicit ways for sense fulfilment because they are constrained by a network of hundreds of thousands of needs and are consumed with lust and rage.

You will like:   Mahabharata War: First Nuclear World War Killed 1 Billion Warriors

Texts 13–15: The demoniac believes, “I already have a great deal of riches, and I shall continue to do so thanks to my ideas. I already have a lot, and I’ll have much more in the future. He was my opponent, and I killed him. I will murder the rest of my enemies as well. I rule over everything. I am enjoying myself. I am flawless, strong, and content. Being surrounded by aristocratic family, I am the wealthiest man. No one is as strong and content as I am. I’ll make sacrifices, I’ll do some good, and I’ll be happy as a result. These people are misled by ignorance in this way.

Text 16: As a result, confused by a variety of fears and constrained by a web of delusions, they grow overly dependent on pleasures of the senses and plunge into hell.

Text 17: They are often arrogant and self-satisfied, blinded by affluence and false prestige, and they proudly make sacrifices in name only, disregarding all laws and standards.

Text 18: Confounded by false ego, strength, pride, desire, and rage, the demons curse the true religion because they are envious of the Supreme Personality of Godhead, who resides in both their own bodies and the bodies of others.

Text 19: I send continuously into the ocean of material existence, into numerous demoniac species of life, those who are jealous and cunning, who are the lowest of men.

Text 20: O son of Kunt, such people can never approach Me since they have obtained repeated birth among the species of demoniac existence. They gradually descend into the most abhorrent kind of existence.

You will like:   Adi Parva Mahabharat: Mahabharata Chapter 1 Overview

Text 21: Lust, rage, and greed are the three gates that open to this inferno. These should be abandoned by every rational individual because they degrade the soul.

Text 22: O son of Kunti, the one who has passed through these three gates of hell engages in deeds that lead to self-realization and eventually arrives at the ultimate goal.

Text 23: One who ignores vedic rules and lives according to his own desires does not reach perfection, happiness, or the ultimate goal.

Text 24: In light of the rules laid down in the Vedic scripts, one should comprehend what is required of them and what is not. Knowing these guidelines, one should operate in a way that allows for a progressive rise in status.

You can find other chapters by clicking on the links given in the table below. (If the table is not fully visible in your mobile device then tilt your device in horizontal position and check all the links).

Bhagavad Gita in English (All Chapters)

Bhagavad Gita Chapter 1 Bhagavad Gita Chapter  10
Bhagavad Gita Chapter  2 Bhagavad Gita Chapter 11
Bhagavad Gita Chapter 3 Bhagavad Gita Chapter  12
Bhagavad Gita Chapter  4 Bhagavad Gita Chapter 13
Bhagavad Gita Chapter 5 Bhagavad Gita Chapter  14
Bhagavad Gita Chapter  6 Bhagavad Gita Chapter 15
Bhagavad Gita Chapter 7 Bhagavad Gita Chapter 16
Bhagavad Gita Chapter  8 Bhagavad Gita Chapter 17
Bhagavad Gita Chapter 9 Bhagavad Gita Chapter 18

Send me such articles

    Similar Posts

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *