Bhagavad Gita in English Chapter 12 The Devotional Service

Devotional Service

Text 1: Arjuna questioned, “Which are regarded as more flawless, those who are constantly properly engaged in Your devotional service or those who worship the impersonal Brahman, the unmanifested?”

Text 2: The Supreme Personality of Godhead declared: I regard as most perfect those who focus their attention on My personal form and are always engaged in worshipping Me with profound and transcendental trust.

Texts 3–4: However, those who fully worship the unmanifested, that which is beyond the perception of the senses, the all-pervading, incomprehensible, unchanging, fixed and immovable – the impersonal conception of the Absolute Truth – by controlling the different senses and being equally disposed to everyone, such persons, engaged in the welfare of all, at last achieve Me.

Text 5: Advancement is exceedingly difficult for individuals whose thoughts are attracted to the impersonal, unmanifested attribute of the Supreme. For those who are embodied, growth in that discipline is never easy.

Texts 6-7: However, those who worship Me are swiftly delivered from the sea of birth and death because they have focused their minds on Me, have given up all their activities for Me, and are committed to Me without deviating. For them, O son of Pritha, I am the source of all their devotional service.

Text 8: Simply focus your thoughts on Me, the Supreme Person of the Godhead, and direct all of your mental energy toward Me. You will undoubtedly live in Me forever as a result.

Text 9: My dear Arjuna, O wealthy victor, if you are unable to concentrate your thoughts on Me without straying, then abide by the bhakti-yogic regulative principles. Create a desire to find Me in this way.

You will like:   Mahabharat Chapter 102 How Yudhishthira Cared for Dhritarashtra More Than Kauravas

Text 10: If you are unable to follow the rules of bhakti-yoga, try working for Me instead. By working for Me, you will reach the pinnacle of your development.

Text 11: However, if you are unable to work in this consciousness of Mine, then strive to act by letting go of all of your job’s outcomes and make an effort to be self-positioned.

Text 12: If you find this practise difficult to accept, devote yourself to the study of knowledge. However, meditation is superior than knowledge, and even better than meditation is giving up the results of one’s actions since by doing so, one might find inner peace.

Texts 13–14: I love very much a devotee of Mine who is not envious but a good friend to all living things, who does not regard himself as a possessor and is free from false ego, who is equal in both happiness and sorrow, who is tolerant, always content, self-controlled, and engaged in devotional service with a firm focus on Me.

Text 15: He who causes no trouble for anybody and who is not troubled by anyone, who is balanced in joy and sorrow, fear and worry, is very precious to Me.

Text 16: I am extremely fond of My devotee who is not dependent on the normal sequence of events, who is expert, pure, carefree, free from all sorrows, and who is not searching for any particular outcome.

Text 17: I am quite fond of a devotee who neither rejoices nor laments, neither laments nor craves, and who renounces both auspicious and unlucky things.

You will like:   Ramayan: Sage Valmiki Understands King Dasaratha Part 3

Texts 18–19: A person who is equal to friends and enemies, equal to honour and dishonour, equal to heat and cold, equal to happiness and distress, equal to fame and infamy, always free from contaminating association, always silent and content with anything, who doesn’t care about any residence, who is fixed in knowledge, and who is involved in devotional service—such a person is very dear to Me.

Text 20: I am very, very dear to those who pursue this imperishable road of devotional service and who fully commit themselves to faith, making Me the greatest aim.

You can find other chapters by clicking on the links given in the table below. (If the table is not fully visible in your mobile device then tilt your device in horizontal position and check all the links).

Bhagavad Gita in English (All Chapters)

Bhagavad Gita Chapter 1 Bhagavad Gita Chapter  10
Bhagavad Gita Chapter  2 Bhagavad Gita Chapter 11
Bhagavad Gita Chapter 3 Bhagavad Gita Chapter  12
Bhagavad Gita Chapter  4 Bhagavad Gita Chapter 13
Bhagavad Gita Chapter 5 Bhagavad Gita Chapter  14
Bhagavad Gita Chapter  6 Bhagavad Gita Chapter 15
Bhagavad Gita Chapter 7 Bhagavad Gita Chapter 16
Bhagavad Gita Chapter  8 Bhagavad Gita Chapter 17
Bhagavad Gita Chapter 9 Bhagavad Gita Chapter 18

Send me such articles

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Similar Posts

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *